Least Square Fit Calculation with Excel

Salam.

Today we’ll look at a technique of linear graph analysis called the least square fitting method. Why do we need to find a best fit line to a set of data in the first place? Because a graph is used to show whether there is a relation between the dependent variable (y-axis) and the independent variable (x-axis). In view of the lab practical that you carried out last week, we’ll plot the best fit line using the spreadsheed software Microsoft Office’s Excel. If you’re a fan of open source software, you could always use OpenOffice.org’s Calc (as useful as Excel, and it’s free).

Download the file¬† “Least squares fitting with Excel” (in pdf format) and open the file in your local computer.
least-squares-fitting-with-excel.

Having said that, if the example in the aforementioned file is too complicated (it is!!) then try this one.It’s more forgiving on your brain….save you guys the headache.. Click the following url linest.

Ok,this is your gift. song-for-you1

And then, there ‘s chapter 30 on Communicating Information. Click on this:¬†Radio

6 thoughts on “Least Square Fit Calculation with Excel

  1. I drop a comment each time I appreciate a article on a website or I have something to contribute to the discussion.
    Usually it’s caused by the fire communicated in the post I read. And on this article Least Square Fit Calculation with Excel | Wanderings. I was actually moved enough to leave a thought :-) I actually do have a couple of questions for you if you usually do not mind. Is it only me or do some of the responses come across like written by brain dead visitors? :-P And, if you are writing on other sites, I’d like to
    follow you. Would you list every one of your social sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  2. Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d
    ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa?
    My blog addresses a lot of the same topics as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you might be interested feel free to send me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by
    the way!

Leave a Reply

